Open Letter To Naptime

Dear Naptime,

I would like to apologize for being such a bitch to you when I was younger. Honestly, I didn’t know any better. I really just thought you were boring, and you got in the way of ALOT of the fun stuff I wanted to do. Let’s face it, we were at different places in our lives.

Luckily I have grown up and seen the error of my ways. I love you. I love you so much I cannot get through a day without you (literally). No matter how bad the morning was, or how many fights I had to break up, or how many times I heard about how I was ruining my children’s lives, we all have a nap and life is good again. You are truly a life saver. A saint. My hero.

That said, I have a bone to pick with you. Just because I get a little bit busy one day and can’t fit you in doesn’t mean you have to send Karma and Murphy (with his stupid law) after me. I totally get how you would be jealous, and maybe even feel a bit angry, but seriously. I just told you how much more wonderful my days are with you… trust me, they are bad enough when I can’t fit you in without you sending reinforcements.

How about we make a deal? I will try harder not to cancel plans with you, if you call off the hounds. Sound good? Screaming kids, getting told I am a bad mom, crying infant, and being too tired to make macaroni for supper should be sufficient punishment. Let’s forget the burns, cuts, and bruises, the stubbed toes, gravity yanking things out of my hands, construction on EVERY road I need to take home with screaming kids in the car, and every other crappy thing that could possibly happen.

I’d really like it if we could remain friends, and look forward to your cooperation.

Sincerely, 

Your biggest fan – Mom

Leave a Reply

