Why Work When You Can Dance With Fairies?

I want to dance with fairies. I know you are asking yourself right now, Who doesn’t? Well I’m here to tell you that plenty of people would rather work. How do I know this you ask? It’s easy. How many people have you seen dancing with fairies? Nary a one! Am I right? Of course I’m right. And I just don’t get it. Unfortunately, today, I too will go to work. I know others who will be going as well. What the hell?! What about the fairies, people?! Who will dance with them?!
I was reading recently that people today work longer hours than any generation before. My first thought was – who wrote this? are they on crack? – my second thought was maybe I should read a little more before I starting pointing my crack-pointing fingers at just anyone. So I read. And here is what I have decided. I think that work is to blame for the deterioration of the family unit.
Did you know that 500 years ago the average peasant only worked six months a year?! Oh sure there were the poor stiffs who worked day in and day out like we do today. But the average peasant worked the land and then gave a day a week to working in the country house or castle of their lord.
I think of all the years I’ve wasted feeling sorry for the peasants; when in reality they lived like royalty! Sheesh! They had more time off than the royal family does today?! No wonder they were always searching for pots of gold and making up stories about witches and the like. Most of them couldn’t read. And even if they could, it’s not like Chapters was just down the road. There were no movie theaters. There were no bowling alleys. Pretty much all these people did was dance with the fairies! Oh sure they had internet, but there was no Facebook or Twitter. Nobody was hashtagging anyone! You can’t very well hashtag if you can’t read or write can you? Just to give you an idea of what twitter would have been like 500 years ago. Here is a tweet from John the farmer:# Well that was interesting. Just for fun I think I’ll retweet what he had to say: #
Whoa. Come to think of it those were two of the most interesting tweets I’ve ever read.
On to my point. These days the majority of people are working at least five days a week. We work day shift, afternoon shift, evening shift, graveyard shift. (That one pretty much says it all!) We work weekends, holidays, Sundays. No wonder there is no time for dancing with fairies! There is no time to take a decent poop in this society. Mom and dad work different shifts. It’s no wonder we can’t keep marriages and families together! We never see each other!
We need to slow down, people. We need to take a break. We need to stop buying expensive cars, furniture, clothing. Why do we need all this stuff anyway?! We don’t. We just want it. It’s no wonder we can’t dance with fairies. The magic is gone. The fairies have left the building. We replaced them with governments, religion, terrorists. We have been brainwashed to believe we need this rubbish; when in reality, all we need is to look after one another. We need to slow down and invite the fairies back. We need a little magic in our lives… that said, I won’t be signing up for the weekly witch hunt.

Leave a Reply

